A Small Smattering

 

n620311473_2157534_5521The weather forecast for the next few days brings happy tidings of spring-like weather! No more waking up to snow on the ground and seeing it peeping out from the shadowy parts of the yard to remind us that winter still had her clutches on the world.

I sat on my bed the other night, looking out through the window to the great darkness beyond. The tree branches were in dark purple silhouette against a clear sky, and there was a milky-white pulsating star just above one of them. I was filled with a deep sense of longing . . . a deep ache. And yet, at the same time, contentment washed over me. There was a yearning for more, a sense of something deeper not yet attained . . . and a feeling of sincere and real contentment with where God has me right now.

Rissa received a seed catalogue in the mail recently, and it makes me feel warm and fuzzy and spring-ish inside to pour over it (even by lamplight in the evenings) and dream big dreams of big gardens and big flowers and big vegetables and . . . big smiles. We’re going to plan out what we would like to do with our backyard and then have the landlord come down and see what she thinks about it. Rissa has great plans of morning glories twining over the fence, beans and peas spiraling up the chain-link, flowers nodding happily (but she intends to keep a wide berth between herself and the tomato patch. “They smell weird.”) We figure that if we make lots of improvements on the property, renew our lease, and be overall perfect tenants, then perhaps . . . perhaps they might let us have a kitten—or a puppy. Just maybe . . .

 

I can’t believe it is already the middle of March. March of 2009.

daisies_22

Bex and I were off visiting friends the other evening and apparently have impeccable timing. We were informed that during the course of the evening while we were gone, we missed out on the beginnings of a high-speed car chase just outside our house. Rissa’s car was nearly smashed into smithereens. Tiny ones. Policemen, EMTs, and “firemans” were swarming our neighborhood, inspecting Rissa’s (undamaged) car, the gravel  in front of our Neighbors house (for reasons we can only try to understand), measuring skid marks, and other such things. Abby was so excited she could hardly handle it . . . and I hear that she was just getting ready to take coffee and dinner out to the “firemans” (I told you she was excited—she could hardly talk! ) when they all up and were gone, leaving one lonely police car on our street. So, I guess that was the excitement of the week, and Bex and I missed it.

St. Patrick’s Day is just around the corner and we’re all set and ready for it with a corned beef brisket in our freezer and a head of cabbage in the fridge. And our tree is being very green and festive.

Happy Spring, everyone! 

5 Comments

Filed under Grace's Entries

5 responses to “A Small Smattering

  1. Marissa

    I don’t think I’ve said anything about how tomato plants smell. Actually, I don’t think I’ve ever been near enough to one to be able to say one way or the other what they smell like.

    Tomatoes are evil. >.<

    But you’re not. I like you.

  2. This post makes me happy…I mean, joyful.

    *sighs over the garden plans…and the prospect of a bright-eyed, bouncy little kitten*

    I adore how tomato plants smell. But not you. I mean, you smell fine. But I wouldn’t say I adore your smell, per se. *nods*

  3. Bexie

    I am very pleased with the fact that winter no longer has her clutches on the world!

    I am disappointed that we missed seeing all the men in uniform just feet from out front porch… 😐

  4. I know, exactly the middle of March! Soon it will be April, then May, then June, then…! 🙂

    Oh, is Rissa’s car okay?

    • Marissa

      And then you’ll drive up to visit us! Yay! 🙂

      Yep. The guy almost backed into it at a rather alarming velocity, but he stopped with what looked like about four inches to spare.

Leave a Reply

